Turn Back The Clock To Taipei

Sunday, January 30, 2011


Let's jump back to late August of 2010 for just a moment.  I had decided to use most of my summer vacation to come back and visit the US.  The cheapest fare I could find was with EVA Airways, a Taiwanese airline that had me switch planes in Taipei before continuing to Los Angeles.  On the way back, I had an 8 hour layover starting at 6 AM local time.

First, though, a quick aside about the real dumb thing I did.  I misread my itinerary and thought 01:15 meant 1:15 PM, so when I showed up bright eyed and bushy-tailed to LAX, my plane was already almost touching down in Taipei.  I haven't felt many worse feelings.  However, I was able to call the EVA help line, and they rebooked me a couple days later.  As it was still during summer break, I didn't have any trouble getting a couple additional days off, either.

For as much as I travel, I kind of suck at it.

After being bailed out by all the nice people and obliging systems around me, I did get my 8 hours in Taipei.  The airport is an hour from the city, so with travel to and from I got 4 hours to walk around.  It was incredibly hot and sticky (especially because for some reason I was wearing jeans), but I really enjoyed my time in the city and got to buy some great local food, too.  Hopefully I'll get a chance to return to Taiwan at some point.

Scooters are HUGE in Taipei.  Smart people.




Here they were making juice out of pressed bamboo, from what I could tell.  I tried some, and it was certainly something different.  Might be an acquired taste.

Small market in a park where I got the hard sell by several vendors and bought some amazing pineapple, dried mango, and tea.

I really enjoyed the variation of architecture from what I was used to in Japan.



When you're in the same city as the second tallest building in the world, you have to go check it out.



Here I saw a definite similarity in the Buddhist architecture, gaudy as this example was.

Hot, sweaty, jetlagged...international travel!

Read more...

Update From The Office Number 3!

Friday, January 28, 2011

Hello!  After a laughably long time away, here's another update from work.  I really want to catch up on my blogging, but the specter of uploading all the pictures seems very daunting every time I sit down to work on it.  Also, to be fair, there are less moments or activities that seem truly new or remarkable or blog-worthy (though that very well may be a false perception).
 
Weather: It's winter here again in Japan, and in my particularly wet prefecture, it means a damp sort of cold that gets into your bones.  It's been hovering around freezing for the past few weeks, which is much warmer than it often is in Chicago or Colorado at the same time, but it definitely feels different.  'Tis the season for hats and cut-off gloves and sleeping bags.  It's snowed every day for the past two weeks, a dramatic departure from last year, when there was far less snow.  And in response the street sprinklers, that peculiar snow-removal technique, squirt up everywhere, making gutter-jumping and car-splash-avoiding a constant concern.
 
At school, the teachers' office and the classrooms are heated, but the halls are not.  The whole building is spacious and made of concrete, so I can usually see my breath when walking to class.  Also, I have to say, the energy management techniques are horrific.  Doors and windows are often left open by the same students and teachers who shiver and mutter "さむい!" ("samui!", cold).
 
Recent interesting lesson: a conversation class where I remarked that I was surprised to find Japanese food I never knew existed, like Japanese curry, okonomiyaki, and takoyaki.  My teacher laughed and said that curry (カレー "karee") was not Japanese, but Indian.  If you've never had Japanese curry, it might be difficult to get how crazy this was, but it's completely different than Indian curry.  Here it's a thick, dark stew that is rarely spicy, often served with a fried shrimp, chicken, or pork over rice.  There are Indian restaurants here, even some quite authentic ones, but apparently most Japanese people don't know how different their dish is.  Along the same lines, but much crazier, is that many people here think McDonald's is a Japanese company.  I think that in addition to how funny/unbelieveable this is, it's a lesson to be wary of exceptionalism in any form--if you think your way is the only way, you're almost certainly going to be wrong.
 
Engrish: Doesn't exactly qualify, but my friend Colin recently had this exchange with a teacher after a class in which most of the class was fast asleep.
 
Colin: Sayama-sensei, have you ever heard of the expression "beating a dead horse"?
Teacher (nodding seriously): Ah, yes. Not as much fun.

Read more...

Total Pageviews

  © Blogger template On The Road by Ourblogtemplates.com 2009

Back to TOP